patricia patricia patricia
about patty
novels
coolcache
short change
Cover Your Assets
False Profits
photo gallery
naked authors
appearances
contact/links
mailing list

 
patricia


Cover your Assets COVER YOUR ASSETS

Los Angeles Times Bestseller!

Tucker Sinclair's life has returned to normal after her first misadventure with murder in the Los Angeles Times bestseller False Profits. But that's about to change when her old college flame, Evan Brice, strolls back into her life after a ten-year estrangement that began when he dumped Tucker to marry her closest friend. Evan is now a successful Hollywood agent who has acquired many mistresses and a love affair with drugs. Certain people think the reunion between Evan and Tucker is neither spontaneous nor innocent, but before Tucker can set them straight, Evan is found brutally murdered. The police quickly close in on the victims's widow, who turns to ex-best-friend Tucker for help. Tucker soon runs afoul of the detective in charge of the case and finds herself at odds with a biker gang and a narcissistic soap opera star in a race to sort the innocent from the guilty.

Read the first chapter!


ORDER THE BOOK through Amazon or Barnes & Noble.

PRAISE FOR COVER YOUR ASSETS

"Fans of Janet Evanovich will find a lot to like in this entertaining romp."
   —Publishers Weekly

"Smiley's second maintains a nice balance...with smart, sassy Tucker caught squarely in the middle."
   —Kirkus

"...snappy prose, a compelling heroine, and a healthy dose of suspense. A series that promises staying power."
   —Booklist

"This is the second in Smiley's amusing new series featuring an unwitting sleuth, her petulant West Highland terrier sidekick, and crimes that could only happen in L.A. Fans of Janet Evanovich and Sue Grafton will love this smart, feisty new addition to the genre."
   —Library Journal

"Smiley is such an engaging writer, she does characters brilliantly and her plotting is terrific. Smiley may be a new name in the mystery community, but I have the feeling she'll be around for a long time."
   — Jon Jordan, Editor of Crimespree Magazine

"Smiley keeps the complications coming and moves the story along at a speedy clip thanks to a breezy, good-humored voice that's tremendously enjoyable."
   — Sarah Weinman, Baltimore Sun

"Scintillating...it's Tucker's ability to poke fun at the zaniness of L.A. life that imbues her character with believability and honesty. Smiley expertly combines wit with edgy mystery, resulting in this captivating novel."
   —Romantic Times Bookclub (Top Pick!)

"Patricia Smiley gives us a no-nonsense, indomitable heroine in Tucker Sinclair....Unlike some of her more famous sisters, such as Kinsey Millhone or Kay Scarpetta, Tucker doesn't seem to spend much time devoted to her business, and her amateur detecting becomes a rather refreshing approach to an age-old crime. No doubt Ms. Smiley has her work cut out for her if she wishes to become as well-known as other female writers in the mystery field, but COVER YOUR ASSETS continues an excellent start in that direction."
   —WhoDunnit.com



top